Skip to main content

NEWS RELEASE (March 14, 2020) – Fareway Stores, Inc. and BodyArmor today presented the Dan Gable Wrestler of the Year Awards, in coordination with IAwrestle and IWCOA. Three finalists from each of the three state wrestling classes and three women finalists attended an awards ceremony in advance of the premier invitational, War at West Gym.

Fans had the ability to vote once per day for their top wrestler in each category until February 7 on Public votes were tallied, and the top voted wrestler received an extra vote towards the IWCOA committee vote. The following athletes were recognized as 2020 recipients:

Ms. Wrestler:         Tateum Park – Davenport North

Chloe Clemons – Pleasant Valley (finalist)

Abby McIntyre – Glenwood (finalist)

Mr. Wrestler:
Class 1A :              Cael Happel – Lisbon

Adam Allard – West Sioux (finalist)

Robert Avila – Lisbon (finalist)


Class 2A:               Cody Fisher – Woodward Granger   

Will Esmoil – West Liberty (finalist)

Hayden Taylor – Solon (finalist)

Class 3A :              Drake Ayala – Fort Dodge  

Gabe Christenson – Southeast Polk (finalist)

Caleb Rathjen – Ankeny (finalist)

The two runner-up student athletes in each class received finalist award plaques. A duplicate Wrestler of the Year trophy and duplicate Wrestler of the Year runner-up plaques will be provided to each high school where finalists attend, for permanent placement in the high school trophy case.

Want to receive more information regarding our news articles?

Give us a call

© 2024 Fareway Stores, Inc. All Rights Reserved.