Skip to main content

NEWS RELEASE (February 24, 2022) – Fareway Stores, Inc. and IAwrestle present the Dan Gable Ms. and Mr. Wrestler of the Year Awards in coordination with the Iowa Wrestling Coaches and Officials Association (IWCOA). Three finalists from each of the three state wrestling classes for the men and three women finalists attended an awards luncheon banquet at the Fareway Conference Center in Boone.

Fans had the ability to vote once per day for their top wrestler in each category until February 8 on Public votes were tallied, and the top voted wrestler received an extra vote towards the IWCOA committee vote. The following athletes were recognized as 2021-2022 recipients:

Ms. Wrestler:         Ella Schmit – Bettendorf

Eva Diaz – Waverly-Shell Rock (finalist)

Alexis Ross – Fort Dodge (finalist)

Mr. Wrestler:
Class 1A:               Marcel Lopez – New London

Chet Buss – North Butler-Clarksville (finalist)

Gable Porter – Underwood (finalist)


Class 2A:               Wyatt Voelker – West Delaware

Carter Fousek – Cresco Crestwood (finalist)

Camron Phetxoumphone – Webster City (finalist)

Class 3A:               Ben Kueter – Iowa City, City High  

Nate Jesuroga – Southeast Polk (finalist)

Aiden Riggins – Waverly-Shell Rock (finalist)

The two runner-up student athletes in each class received finalist award plaques. A duplicate Wrestler of the Year trophy and duplicate Wrestler of the Year runner-up plaques will be provided to each high school where finalists attend, for permanent placement in the high school trophy case.

About IAwrestle is an outlet for fans in Iowa to consume wrestling content. IAwrestle has grown into a bona fide media outlet providing coverage of Iowa’s three major Division I programs, its small college programs, as well as extensive coverage and commentary about the state’s rabid high school wrestling scene. Live streaming events, on-scene reporting, video interviews, and the Potentially Dangerous podcast are key draws to the site. IAwrestle also produces premiere wrestling events and showcases them in some of Iowa’s most iconic wrestling facilities.

Want to receive more information regarding our news articles?

Give us a call

© 2024 Fareway Stores, Inc. All Rights Reserved.