Skip to main content

NEWS RELEASE (February 28, 2024) – Fareway Stores, Inc., IAwrestle, and Iowa Corn present the Dan Gable Ms. and Mr. Wrestler of the Year Awards in coordination with the Iowa Wrestling Coaches and Officials Association (IWCOA). Three finalists from each of the three state wrestling classes for the men and three women finalists attended an awards luncheon banquet today at the Fareway Conference Center in Boone.

Fans had the ability to vote once per day for their top wrestler in each category for the women and men on Public votes were tallied, and the top voted wrestler received an extra vote towards the IWCOA committee vote. The following athletes were recognized as 2023-2024 recipients:

Ms. Wrestler:

Naomi Simon, Decorah (winner)

Molly Allen, Riverside, Oakland (finalist)

Reanah Utterback, Sigourney-Keota (finalist)

Mr. Wrestler:

Class 1A:                                                      

Kyler Knaack, Don Bosco (winner)

Blake Allen, Underwood (finalist)

Mason Knipp, Columbus Catholic (finalist)

Class 2A:

Tucker Stangel, Osage (winner)

Anders Kittelson, Osage (finalist)

Austin Scranton, Anamosa (finalist)

Class 3A:

Dreshaun Ross, Fort Dodge (winner)

Kane Naaktgeboren, Linn-Mar (finalist)

Cale Seaton, Iowa City, City High (finalist)

Special guests at the event included Dan Gable, University of Iowa’s all-time winningest coach
and Mark Ironside, two-time National Champion, and Ella Schmit, past Dan Gable Award winner and current University of Iowa Women's Wrestling team athlete.

The two runner-up student athletes in each class received finalist award plaques. A duplicate Wrestler of the Year trophy and duplicate Wrestler of the Year runner-up plaques will be provided to each high school where finalists attend, for permanent placement in the high school trophy case.

To read more about winners, finalists, and past recipients, read more here.

About IAwrestle is an outlet for fans in Iowa to consume wrestling content. Iawrestle has grown into a bona fide media outlet providing coverage of Iowa’s three major Division I programs, its small college programs, as well as extensive coverage and commentary about the state’s rabid high school wrestling scene. Live streaming events, on-scene reporting, video interviews, and the Potentially Dangerous podcast are key draws to the site. Iawrestle also produces premiere wrestling events and showcases them in some of Iowa’s most iconic wrestling facilities.

About Iowa Corn

The Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB), works to develop and defend markets, fund research, and provide education about corn and corn products. The Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) is a 7,000-member strong grassroots-driven organization, headquartered in Johnston, Iowa, serving members across the state, and lobbying on agricultural issues on behalf of its farmer members to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability. For more information, visit

Want to receive more information regarding our news articles?

Give us a call

© 2024 Fareway Stores, Inc. All Rights Reserved.