Skip to main content

NEWS RELEASE (Nov. 6, 2023 – The Iowa Grocery Industry (IGIA) recognized Fareway Stores, Inc. President, Garrett Piklapp, as the 2023 Retail Leader of the Year during the 2023 Hall of Fame Dinner on November 6th, 2023, at The Sheraton West Des Moines. IGIA honors this award to the achievements of Iowans who have demonstrated extraordinary commitment and service to the industry.

“Being honored as Retail Leader of the Year is special,” says Fareway President, Garrett Piklapp. “This award has recognized the giants of our industry for many years and it’s humbling to share this award with those individuals.”

The Retail Leader of the Year Award was initiated in 1982, this prestigious award recognizes a retailer professional for their outstanding work ethic and commitment to their company, employees, and community. Winners are nominated by their peers and nominations are reviewed by the Hall of Fame selection committee. Final selection is made based upon contributions to the grocery industry, years of grocery industry involvement, membership and participation, contributions to IGIA superior customer service and community involvement, and creating a positive environment for the grocery industry.

“We’re honored to recognize Garrett’s leadership and contributions to the IGIA, the grocery industry and Fareway,” said Michelle Hurd, Iowa Grocery Industry Association President. “IGIA is proud to work alongside him and his commitment to the industry which made him the perfect candidate for this year’s Retail Leader of the Year.”

Garrett has been with Fareway since 2008, initially serving as the first-ever general counsel to the company, to rolls as Vice President, Senior Vice President, Executive Vice President, and lastly being promoted to President in 2021. Additionally, he is involved with Hope Lutheran Church, volunteering with Ballard Community Schools and enjoys being part of local government and political campaign work.

Want to receive more information regarding our news articles?

Give us a call

© 2024 Fareway Stores, Inc. All Rights Reserved.